tumblr_mhcrnpaIqN1qjm9bpo1_500 (2)

I am on a continuous mission to find my purpose and passion in life.

To be honest, my attention span seems so brief – I adopted the phrase “Jill of all trades, and master of none” to describe myself at times, because that is how I feel. My general interests seem to shift daily with the wind. One day I am up in arms and excited about doing something, the next day I am no longer interested. For example, one day I decided I want to become a real estate agent, so I found out the book used for the course and bought it on Amazon, with the internal understanding that I would dive into it and make it happen.

Then I spoke with two experts in the field, who advised me that I would have to save up enough money to live off for a year, because I would not be guaranteed pay if I was to become an apprentice in the field.

Pause.  Say what now?

So I look at the shiny book from Amazon and I get to thinking – am I willing and able to make that kind of sacrifice to achieve that goal? Is it really a goal? Or is it just a passing fad that I entertained the idea of briefly, just to let it go?

That book is still catching dust in my room by the way, and I see it every day.

Then there is the matter of my current goals. I know what I want to do, at times. I have generally pinpointed what I believe I really want to do and made a plan to do it – mission accomplished.

Or so I thought.

By chance, I came across a Youtube video post the other day by a guy called JP Morgan Jr., who spoke on the topic “How Do I Find My Passion” (If you want to watch the video this is the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1-ST9qTMn7g).

He said two things that really changed my perspective on this topic, and that’s really what I want to touch on currently.

  1. The first thing he said that really got my attention was that you don’t “find” your passion, you grow it, not discover it. JPMJ asked the audience if they believed in love at first sight, and said that he had some bad news for those that did. He compared this belief of “finding” your passion to going into a bookstore, looking in a book and then suddenly, “Oh! There’s my passion! Right here on page 78 in this book!” He stated just as you can’t force love, you can’t force passion.

 

This simple statement caused me to understand that I need to change my viewpoint on this journey – that is, I should not be trying to find my passion, but rather grow it from the talents that I already have. For example, my life’s purpose may be to become a construction worker, but of course I am not aware of this. I then look at what I enjoy doing – Ok I know I enjoy putting things together and I am good with my hands, and I enjoy math and measurements. In order for me to realize my true purpose and passion, something has to grow from these talents, rather than me waking up one day and say oh! I am meant to be a construction worker! Hooray!

 

Each step I take by following and pursing what it is I am interested in, will help to shape and grow my passion – so that one day I will achieve the fact  that I am doing what I love to do, without realizing it.

 

  • What motivates your goals or your “passion”? This second question struck a chord with me as well. Sometimes we use the wrong motivators to drive us to do something, and while that motivation may help us to move, we may find that we end up someplace we didn’t want to be. Also, the wrong motivation dissipates, and we lose the drive we had, simply because we used the wrong thing to push ourselves. An example he gave was of the classic weight loss goal – so you determine your success by the numbers on the scale. However, as you exercise and move toward losing weight, your motivation to do so will also dwindle. Suddenly, you realize you’re no longer overweight, and therefore weight loss is no longer a goal. So what do you do? You stop. Then you pack back on pounds, and have to make weight loss a goal again. It that really success?
  • Rather than doing this, JPMJ indicates that your motivation in this example is incorrect. Instead of “losing weight”, your goal should be a “healthy lifestyle”. In that way, your motivation is continuous – you don’t define your success by dropping pounds, you make changes in your life to become healthy and remain healthy. If you lose weight in the process, that is an added bonus of sorts, but your success will be seen and felt every single day for the rest of your life.

    The point here is that your motivation affects your goals, and it is important to choose the correct motivation.

    To bring it home personally, I want to change jobs – but what is my motivation? Well, I have a bitch of a supervisor, who makes my mental health come into question on a daily basis. My daily tasks bore me to tears, and I would prefer a challenge. I am using the anger that I feel at my job and supervisor to be the motivation behind me wanting to move. Then when I change jobs, I will experience the same thing – there may always be a bitch supervisor, and a job that becomes boring because I no longer have the anger to fuel my motivation.

     I’ve realized now that this is the incorrect motivation, and I will most likely not attain my goal because of this. What should my goal be? What then should my correct motivation be? Whether it includes offering my skills and talents, moving into my desired field, etc. I’m not quite sure yet, and I am still figuring it out. But I realize that my current motivation for looking for another job is incorrect. I need to remove the problem from my mind, determine what my goals and dreams are, and then what steps I need to get there.

    This is still a work in progress for me, and I hope that I gave you some food for thought as well. I have no doubt that I will understand my full potential in this life, and I continue on the journey to change my perspective from “ finding” my passion, to growing my interests to realize my passion.

